We are governed by a passionate group of leading consultant urologists, specialists and successful business figures dedicated in our fight against urology disease.



Our trustees are:


Mary Garthwaite


Mary was formerly a Consultant Urological Surgeon specialising in neurourology and functional and reconstructive urological surgery. Having gained a PhD in the Molecular Biology of the Bladder in Health and Disease she developed a career long interest and specialist expertise in the management of benign, chronic disorders of the bladder,…

Read Mary Garthwaite's bio
Angela Daniel

Ms Angela Daniel


Angela joined The Urology Foundation's Board of Trustees at the end of 2018. She currently works for AIG and heads up the Firm's Finance team within the Europe Asset Management division. Prior to joining AIG, she worked as the EMEA Controller for Custody & Securities Lending (WSS) in JP Morgan…

Read Ms Angela Daniel's bio
Mark Becker – 2022

Mr Mark Becker

Hon Secretary

Mark has over 30 years engineering, consulting and professional services experience. A former Partner at KPMG Consulting and Managing Director at Atos International IT Services. Mark’s specialization has focused on engineering, business improvement, product development, commercial management, programme risk advisory services and global client management in various sectors. In 2016…

Read Mr Mark Becker's bio
Ben Challacombe crop 2022

Mr Ben Challacombe


I support TUF because I'm passionate about urology and treating people with urological diseases and TUF funds key research to enable this. TUF supported me in my early career, and continues to support the training needs of other surgeons to help improve the lives of our patients. Ben Challacombe is…

Read Mr Ben Challacombe's bio
Mike Griggs low res

Mike Griggs


Mike has over 40 years working in Business Transformation delivering Change Projects that take large organisations from their current position to a place they want to move to. He has worked for consultancies and in the Financial Services sector. A former CEO at a start up IT services company, he…

Read Mike Griggs's bio
Hannah Warren

Ms Hannah Warren


Hannah Warren is a trainee urologist in London. She has an interest in kidney cancer, and is planning to undertake a PhD in this field. She was drawn to urology for the pioneering use of technology, and positive clinical experiences. Hannah is a committee member of BURST, a trainee-lead urology…

Read Ms Hannah Warren's bio
headshot JC

Jo Cresswell

BAUS Representative Trustee

Jo Cresswell is a Consultant Urological Surgeon, and until recently Clinical Director at the James Cook University Hospital in Middlesbrough. The department has 12 consultant urologists, 6 urologists in training and is a regional centre for urological cancer. Jo graduated in Medicine from the University of Newcastle (UK) and was…

Read Jo Cresswell's bio
Rakesh Heer

Professor Rakesh Heer

Chair of our Scientific and Education Committee

Professor Heer took over as Chairman of the TUF Science and Eductation Committee in April 2023. He is Urology Chair at Imperial College London and leads a large portfolio of national & international research in urological cancers. He treats patients with prostate, kidney & bladder cancer. He holds a number…

Read Professor Rakesh Heer's bio
p6efinger alan mcneill image

Alan McNeill


Professor Alan McNeill is a consultant urological surgeon at the Western General Hospital, Edinburgh, where he has helped to develop the minimally invasive surgery programme in urology (including laparoscopic radical prostatectomy), after receiving additional training at the Cleveland Clinic, Ohio and the University Hospital in Leipzig, Germany. He is a…

Read Alan McNeill's bio
Kieran OFlynn

Kieran O’Flynn


Kieran O’Flynn graduated from University College Dublin in 1982. He obtained his FRCSI in 1986, before moving to working in Scotland in 1987. He worked as a clinical lecturer in Sheffield from 1989-1991 and then became a senior registrar in Urology in Manchester gaining his specialist certification, FRCS(Urol), in 1994.…

Read Kieran O’Flynn's bio
Mo Belal QEII

Mo Belal


Julia Taylor MBE

Hilary Baker

Hilary Baker