The Scientific and Education Committee

The SEC is responsible for the development and assessment of The Foundation’s medical education and training programmes and the review and administration of its grant making policy. The Chairman is a member of the Board of Trustees and the committee is made up of clinical trustees and academic urologists and scientists with an interest in urology.



  • Mr Grant Stewart (Chairman)

Mr Grant Stewart is a University Lecturer at the University of Cambridge and an honorary consultant urological surgeon at Addenbrooke's hospital. Mr Stewart is an academic urological surgeon with clinical and research expertise in kidney cancer. He moved to Cambridge in October 2015 from a post as Senior Lecturer in Urological Surgery at the University of Edinburgh where he led the Edinburgh Urological Cancer Group, undertaking translational research into renal cell cancer. Mr Stewart joined the SEC in 2014 and was appointed Chairman in March 2018.

  • Mr Ian Pearce

Mr Ian Pearce practices at Manchester Royal Infirmary as a Consultant Urological Surgeon. Mr Pearce also serves on multiple British Association of Urological Surgeon (BAUS) committees, including the Executive committee of the Section of Female, Neurological and Urodynamic Urology and the BAUS audit committee. He holds special interest in andrology and functional urology.

  • Professor Abhay Rane OBE

Professor Abhay Rane OBE practises as at Spire Gatwick Park as a Consultant Urological Surgeon. One of the first laparoscopic urological surgeons in the United Kingdom, Professor Rane was awarded an OBE in 2014 for his contributions to laparoscopic urology. Professor Rane is also Adjunct Professor of Urology at the University of Southern California and Chairman of Southern Laparoscopic Urology Group (SLUG). Professor Rane’s clinical specializations include kidney cancer, bladder cancer, kidney stones, and micro-surgical vasectomy reversal.

  • Mr Martin Gammon

Martin is an experienced business leader and former CEO now supporting a number of small and medium-sized contracting companies and private equity houses in a non-executive or advisory capacity. He currently has five non-executive director roles.  Martin joined the Urology Foundation’s Science & Education Committee as a Lay Member in 2017 specifically to provide the voice of the patient having undergone three successful operations in the preceding two years.

  • Ms Ashleigh Ward

Ashleigh Ward is a lecturer at the University of Stirling where she is part of the Cancer Care Research Centre, and completing her doctorate on capacity development in NHS Scotland prostate cancer services.  Her other interests include public and professional perceptions of cancer, health behaviours in diagnosis, the role of the third sector in healthcare, and LGBTX cancer experiences.  She sits on Prostate Scotland’s patient advisory group, and COSCA’s ethical committee and complaints panel.

  • Dr Andy Feber

Dr Andy Feber is a Senior Lecturer at UCL in the Division of Surgery at UCL. He did his PhD at the ICR London and a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Mount Sinai Medical School, New York prior to joining UCL.  His research focuses on understanding the genomics and epigenomics of cancer development and the development of biomarkers for cancer diagnosis and treatment. His research interest is in bladder cancer, penile cancer and prostate cancer.

  • Professor Caroline Moore

Professor Caroline Moore is the first woman in the UK to be a Professor of Urology. She is Head of Urology at University College London, and Honorary Consultant Urologist at University College London Hospitals Trust. Her research focusses on novel approaches to the diagnosis, surveillance and treatment of prostate cancer, informed by MRI and patient reported outcomes. She is the Surgical Specialty Lead for BAUS/The Royal College of Surgeons, and is committed to developing urological research across the UK and internationally. 

Terms of Reference

Conflict of Interest Policy


Read more


Read more


Read more

Male reproductive organs

Read more